The AAUW advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research. In support of this mission, the Atascadero Branch of AAUW awards scholarships annually to women who have completed one year or more of college at an accredited institution. In the past few years awards have ranged from $500 – $2,000.

Eligibility for these scholarships is limited to:

  • Residents of Atascadero, Santa Margarita, Templeton, or Paso Robles;
  • Members of Atascadero Branch AAUW; and
  • Women who have graduated from one of these local high schools now living out of the area to attend college.

Applicants may be women at all levels of higher education. Women pursuing degrees in STEM fields (Science, Technology, Engineering, Math) are especially encouraged to apply.

Applications are evaluated based on the following criteria:

  • Academic progress
  • Financial need
  • Description of goals
  • Volunteer activities
  • Letters of reference

Download the 2018 application form here: AAUW ScholarApp 2018

We suggest consulting these Tips for Successful Scholarship Applications before you complete this or any other scholarship application. They are based on feedback from reviewers of scholarship applications in previous years.  Download the tips here: scholarapptips

For further information please contact Jeanne Miller, Scholarship Co-Chair –


The Scholarship Committee is pleased to announce that Atascadero AAUW has awarded eight scholarships this year.   Thank you to everyone who helped make our fund-raising efforts such a success.  With the support of our organization and our community, we re able to help eight deserving women continue with their university education.  They are all truly grateful.

Judie Magonacelaya and Jeanne Miller,  Scholarship Co-Chairs


Belen Blanco, mother of two sons, is majoring in Early Childhood Education.


Mariah Higuera, one of eleven children, is majoring in psychology.

Mary Lopez-Isidro, a former Tech Trek camper, is a second-year student in Biology.


Hekmat “Mattie” Mabrouk is a sophomore nursing major.

Sylvia Nicovich is a PhD candidate in Earth Sciences/Geology.

Tenille Packer, mother of two sons, is majoring in Communications.

Brenna Shatswell, mother of four and currently an R.N., is studying to be a Nurse Practitioner.


Heather Wulff, a former Tech Trek camper, is majoring in Linguistics and Communications..